I am waiting for a hearing on my DUI charge and am getting very nervous. My attorney says I will lose my license for a while but will not go to jail. Is she right? Are there set penalties in Massachusetts for first offense DUI?
The penalty for a first offense is usually as follows: probation for one-year, entry into an alcohol education program and a 45-90 day license loss. You would be eligible for a 12 hour license for this suspension period. Unless there was a serious accident with injuries or death, jail is not even a possibility in my assessment.
MASSACHUSETTS BOARD CERTIFIED DRUNK DRIVING DEFENSE LAWYER
Massachusetts board certified drunk driving defense lawyer, Attorney James Milligan represents clients charged with DUI DWI OUI throughout Massachusetts including Barnstable County, Bristol County, Essex County, Middlesex County, Norfolk County, Plymouth County, Suffolk County, and Worcester County. If you have been charged with drunk driving DUI DWI OUI in Massachusetts, contact Attorney Milligan for a Free Case Evaluation.